A Look At The 2017 Woman’s Cricket World Cup

May 2, 2017 by

The 2017 Woman’s Cricket World Cup

The 2017 Woman’s Cricket World Cup gets underway on the 24th of June this year. All of the top female players from around the world will descend on the UK as England play host to the prestigious limited overs tournament. With qualification already confirmed, Australia’s Southern Stars will want to repeat their previous success and retain their title when the final is played at Lord’s on July the 23rd. This is the third time the World Cup has been held in England. The home side emerged victorious on both previous occasions in 1973 and 1993.

The 2017 ODI World Cup for Women will be made up eight international teams. The World Cup qualification process saw the top four teams from the ICC Championship automatically booking their place while the remaining teams came through from the World Cup qualification tournament. The ten-team qualification tournament played in February, was made up of four Championship teams and six others.

When the tournament kicks off on the 24th of June, all eight teams will go into a single group and play each other at least once in the opening stages. The top four teams in the group will then progress to semi-finals where the winners will move on to play the Cup Final at Lords on the 23rd of July. Australia’s Southern Stars were the first team to book their place in the tournament. They topped the log in the Woman’s Championship, winning a massive 18 out of their 21 matches.

The Final Eight Teams

England were the second team to qualify for the tournament while New Zealand and the West Indies snapped up the final two qualification spots. While they might have missed out on a top-four placing, South Africa, Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka all confirmed their places via the qualification tournament while Scotland, Bangladesh and Ireland were amongst the team who all missed the cut.

While the official betting for the tournament has yet to open, World Cup Futures bets have been going for a few months now. Leading the charge is Australia at odds of $3.50 with South Africa at odds of $5.00. The full list of futures odds betting is as follows:

  • Australia 3.50
  • South Africa 5.00
  • India 6.00
  • England 7.00
  • New Zealand 7.00
  • Pakistan 12.00
  • Sri Lanka 12.00
  • West Indies 15.00

Cameron Hollands

More About

After working part time in one of Australia’s finest casinos to fund his journalism studies, Cameron Hollands discovered a passion for sports betting. A few years and many successful bets later, he is now putting his considerable experience to good use, and is a regular contributor for australiansportsbetting.net.
Cameron’s expert advice, insight into the sporting world and straightforward reporting style has earned him many fans, and he enjoys sharing his expertise with fellow punters.

View Posts - Visit Website