Guide to Twenty20 World Cup Cricket Betting

Cricket is the quintessential gentleman’s game, and until 1963 the only match format was the 5-day version. Locally these were called First-Class matches, and internationally they were known as Tests. We still see popular Test matches today, but over time One-Day Internationals and Twenty20, or T20, contests have also been introduced.

How Twenty20 Cricket Originated

Limited Overs Cricket started in the 1960s in Britain, and was introduced internationally in 1971. The first international Limited Overs game was between Australia and England, and occurred by default when rain threatened to thwart a Test match.

The rate of play in a One Day International is quite different from what you see in a Test match, and the quicker, more aggressive action seems to appeal more to younger spectators. With that in mind, when the Benson & Hedges Cup One Day competition came to an end in 2002, the English and Wales Cricket Board knew they needed to find something fast-paced to take its place.

The solution was T20, where each side plays a single innings of just 20 overs, and the format debuted in a match between the English counties of Surrey and Warwickshire in 2003. The first women’s international game was played in 2004 with New Zealand beating England by 9 runs. In February 2005, Australia and New Zealand went head-to-head in the first men’s international at Eden Park in Auckland. Since then, the high-octane games have garnered a huge following, in their original target market of younger spectators and beyond. Betting on the T20 cricket results only makes them even more exciting to watch.

TOP t20 cricket betting SITESMay 2024
1 IE allowed5/5100% Match up to $250 Bet now
2 IE allowed4.9/5100% Match Bet now
3 IE allowed4.8/5Login to see promotions Bet now

Twenty20 World Cup Structure

The Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cups are biennale events, except when they are due to occur in the same year as an International Cricket Council – ICC – World Cup. In this case, they are staged the year before. Though there have been years when a T20 World Cup was not held, for various reasons, this remains the default schedule.

The World Cup consists of qualifying round, followed by a group stage and then a knockout stage. The 8 national teams ranked top in the world are granted automatic entry, while the remaining 4 places in the group stage are contested by the 8 sides who finished highest in the affiliated T20 World Cup Qualifier.

From here, the 12 qualifying teams enter the group stage, known as the Super 12s round. The 2 teams who finished first in each group of 6 move – 4 teams in total – on to the knockout round’s Semi Finals and then, ultimately, to the Final.

T20 World Cup Bets

In a T20 World Cup you can bet on who will win each match, as well as who the overall victors will be. Draws are not possible, since a T20 triggers a Super Over to determine a winner. Straight and point spread stake are possible, along with totals and various props. Bettors who are in the mood to challenge themselves can try in-play as well as pre-game wagers.