Australian Guide to the Ryder Cup

September 30, 2016 by

ryder-cup-logoA Guide to the 2016 Ryder Cup

On the 30th of September, punters, golf fans and the sporting community will turn its attention to one of Golf’s most interesting competitions. For one week, the gentlemanly sport of golf puts away its strict traditions in an epic battle between two competing nations. With players throwing high-fives and fist bumping on the course, the Ryder Cup is a golf competition with a difference. It is no wonder it attracts worldwide attention and has become very popular with bettors across the globe.

The first Ryder Cup was played in 1927 between the USA and Great Britton. In 1979, after losing 10 out of 11 competitions, Jack Nicklaus suggested that the British team incorporate European players to balance out the teams and put everyone on an even playing level. Since then, the competition has seen a reversal of fortune. In recent years, Europe has dominated, winning seven out of the last nine contests.

The Ryder Cup has gained popularity all over the world and is especially popular with Australian punters and golf fans. While there have been serious etiquette breaches during the competition, the little bits of misbehaviour and passionate outbursts are what makes the competition so interesting. This year’s Ryder Cup takes place at the Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska Minnesota. The competition will run from the 30th of September through to the 2nd of October 2016.

The Teams and Their Captains

Captain Davis Love will head up the Ryder Cup US Team. The 52-year-old has played in six Ryder Cup competitions winning the Cup in his debut in 1992 as well as in 1999. The rest of the US team consist of Rickie Fowler (World Ranking 9), J.B. Holmes (World Ranking 21), Dustin Johnson (World Ranking 2), Zach Johnson (World Ranking 28), Brooks Koepka (World Ranking 22), Matt Kuchar (World Ranking 17), Phil Mickelson (World Ranking 15), Patrick Reed (World Ranking 8), Brandt Snedeker (World Ranking 23), Jordan Spieth (World Ranking 4), Jimmy Walker (World Ranking 16) and Ryan Moore (World Ranking 31).

Captain Darren Clarke, who has won four out his last five Ryder Cup competitions, will head the European team. The rest of the European team includes: Rafael Cabrera Bello (World Ranking 30), Matthew Fitzpatrick (World Ranking 44), Sergio Garcia (World Ranking 12), Martin Kaymer (World Ranking 48), Rory McIlroy (World Ranking 3), Thomas Pieters (World Ranking 42), Justin Rose (World Ranking 11), Henrik Stenson (World Ranking 5), Andy Sullivan (World Ranking 50), Lee Westwood (World Ranking 46), Danny Willett (World Ranking 10) and finally Chris Wood (World Ranking 32).

This is one golfing event not to be missed and it’s definitely a highlight of the sporting calendar.

Jennie Martin

More About

After completing her degree, Jennie Martin began her journalism career by working as an intern on the entertainment pages. However, her passion for sport was quickly noticed, and she began covering local events.
She now puts her considerable expertise and more than a decades worth of experience to good use, keeping readers up to date on Australian and international sports betting news.
From the latest sporting results to the thrills and spills of the online betting industry, Jennie is the expert in the field.

View Posts - Visit Website