EuroBasket Women Now; Men in August

June 19, 2017 by

EuroBasket Women 2017 Action in Czech Republic

The European Basketball Championship has been around since 1935, but this year governing body FIBA Europe is relaunching the tournament as the EuroBasket. The Men’s championship has also been made a four-yearly event from 2017, while the Women’s championship will continue to be held every two years.

The first EuroBasket Women starts on Friday 16 June, so Australian betting fans can get into the action right away this weekend. The 16 teams that have qualified will play the group stages until Sunday in four groups of four, split between Czech Republic’s Zimni Stadion in Hradec Kralove and the Kralovka Arena in Prague.

Next week, the finals phase plays out in Prague’s O2 Arena. The second and third teams on each group ladder will play a round of knockout qualifiers, with the winners joining the top teams on each group ladder in the quarter-finals. The final, as well as the playoff for third place, will take place next Sunday, 25 June.

France, Spain, Russia and Turkey are the top-seeded sides in EuroBasket Women 2017. The other 12, including defending champions Serbia and hosts Czech Republic, are Belarus, Ukraine, Montenegro, Greece, Slovakia, Latvia, Italy, Hungary, Belgium and Slovenia.

France, Lithuania, Spain, Serbia Top Men’s Seeds

The Men’s EuroBasket 2017, scheduled to run from 31 August to 17 September, features 24 teams in four groups of six. Finland, Israel, Romania and Turkey are hosting the group stages, in Helsinki, Tel Aviv, Cluj-Napoca and Istanbul. The knockout stages in Istanbul’s 16,000-seater Sinan Erdem Dome start on 9 September, with a Round of 16 that includes the top four teams in each group.

Defending Champions Spain have won the championship three times, and they are the top seed in Group C. Lithuania is also a team that can’t be ruled out, and they head the pack in Group B. France is the safest bet in Group A, and Serbia heads up Group D. The remaining 20 teams in the Men’s EuroBasket are Greece, Finland, Poland, Iceland, Slovenia, Italy, Israel, Georgia, Germany, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Montenegro, Romania, Latvia, Turkey, Russia, Great Britain and Belgium.

Cameron Hollands

More About

After working part time in one of Australia’s finest casinos to fund his journalism studies, Cameron Hollands discovered a passion for sports betting. A few years and many successful bets later, he is now putting his considerable experience to good use, and is a regular contributor for
Cameron’s expert advice, insight into the sporting world and straightforward reporting style has earned him many fans, and he enjoys sharing his expertise with fellow punters.

View Posts - Visit Website